strange armor value

Get Help on scripting in POL with configurations, config setups, script trouble shooting, etc.

Moderator: POL Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
atreiu
Grandmaster Poster
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 1:08 pm
Location: Russia, Moscow

strange armor value

Post by atreiu » Tue Mar 10, 2020 10:16 am

hi everyone.

problem is that armor item give undocumented armor value.
example Dwarven Platemail Breastplate
Armor 0x1416
{
Name PlatemailBreastplate2
AR 43
Desc Dwarven Platemail Breastplate
Coverage Body
VendorSellsFor 473
VendorBuysFor 236
MaxHP 80
blockcircle 9
strrequired 95
#Cprop 51 i-10
EquipScript equip
UnEquipScript unequip
DestroyScript unequip
armor plate
script general_use
}
equip.src

Code: Select all

program equipthing(who,item,startup)		
	broadcast("all here!!!");
	return 1;
	broadcast("nothing here!!!");
BUT once i equip it i have +17 armor.... screen attached

i see that this armor item have
item.ar = 43
item.ar_base = 43
item.ar_mod = 0

after equip i see
who.ar_mod = 0
who.ar = 17

i've waste day on investigate but no success. maybe some armor value in client files?! any thought will be appreciated.
Attachments
WTFarmor.JPG
WTFarmor.JPG (25.53 KiB) Viewed 96 times

User avatar
Austin
Former Developer
Posts: 616
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 2:30 am

Re: strange armor value

Post by Austin » Tue Mar 10, 2020 6:38 pm


User avatar
atreiu
Grandmaster Poster
Posts: 151
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 1:08 pm
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: strange armor value

Post by atreiu » Tue Mar 10, 2020 11:47 pm

thanks a lot. i;ve ckecked this cfg but never thought that chance to hit can affect on armor
i set chance to 1 and it works 0 armor.

it is sooo strange. this is chance to hit but not an armor...
mb better to change little bit description for this cfg in doc?!

Yukiko
Distro Developer
Posts: 2736
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:41 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Contact:

Re: strange armor value

Post by Yukiko » Wed Mar 11, 2020 8:19 am

The AR is is based on the area of coverage. A breast plate covers a larger area than gloves but if it is the only armor equipped it will not display the full value assigned to it in the itemdesc.cfg file because it is only covering part of the character. If you create a full set of armor with an AR of 43 and equip it on a character it will display an AR of 43 because the character is now fully covered.

Post Reply