Feature and requirement question?

Archive of posts related to former distro versions. Be aware that posts here do not refer to the current distro and may not work.

Moderators: POL Developer, Distro Developer

johanz
New User

Feature and requirement question?

Post by johanz »

Sorry if this is the wrong category. I couldn't decide between this and GD

So anyway, let's start with requirements
1. What version of uo can play? AoS, ML, etc? What patch versions?
2. Approximate server specs for 50-100 players?

About features (sorry for dumb questions, I am new to this emulator)
1. Custom maps, are they possible? Like totally custom ones?
2. House building, does it work like in new versions where you place tiles yourself?
3. What does root version include, and what isn't included. Just want to know, how nude emu looks

That's it for now, if anything comes to mind, I hope I can ask.
Tomi
POL Developer

Re: Feature and requirement question?

Post by Tomi »

About requirements

1: Its all up to what you want to support in your scripts. there is no hardcoded AOS/ML/other crap in the core that forces you to use a certain uo version.
Pol 098 supports up to 6.0.14.1, and the next subrelease 098.2 will support the latest 6.0.14.2. So ALL patches are supported.

2: This I let someone else answer.

About Features

1: Yes Custom maps are possible, and even other sizes of maps than OSI supports so answer is YES.

2: Its implemented in the core but not 100% finished yet.

3: about 90% of your shard is handled by scripts ( even more if you choose to override core stuff ), There are many scriptsets even here on the forums, take a look the Custom Script Releases forum. So there is probably some that you can start to work with also :)

The latest official Pol Distro ( for Pol versions 097 & 098 ) are not completed, and for now unsure when they will be that also.
johanz
New User

Post by johanz »