view range

Get Help on scripting in POL with configurations, config setups, script trouble shooting, etc.

Moderator: POL Developer

Post Reply
User avatar
atreiu
Grandmaster Poster
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 1:08 pm
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

view range

Post by atreiu » Thu Apr 12, 2018 11:39 am

is it possible to enlarge view range to objects for player and change distance when core send 0x78?
mb in cfg like SpeechRange or DefaultDoubleclickRange but i din't found anything
thanks a lot to all POL devs you've made my hobby!
my addon for comfortable eScript compilation will save your time
drugs&drop for compile new one
alt+q - compile last script

Yukiko
Distro Developer
Posts: 2500
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:41 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Contact:

Re: view range

Post by Yukiko » Fri Apr 13, 2018 8:37 am

Do you want to extend the viewable area in the game window? I do not believe that is possible from POL.. The client controls the viewable area. However there is a third party client that makes this possible. It looks like the UO client but has enhancements. It is called Orion UO. It is still in development and some things are not yet implemented but it is the best third party client I have ever seen. Check it out and see if it does what you are looking for.
Sincerely,
Yukiko

I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it.

Titus 2:13

RusseL
Forum Regular
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:30 pm

Re: view range

Post by RusseL » Fri Apr 13, 2018 9:47 am

Yukiko wrote:
Fri Apr 13, 2018 8:37 am
Do you want to extend the viewable area in the game window? I do not believe that is possible from POL.. The client controls the viewable area. However there is a third party client that makes this possible. It looks like the UO client but has enhancements. It is called Orion UO. It is still in development and some things are not yet implemented but it is the best third party client I have ever seen. Check it out and see if it does what you are looking for.
It's a server decision to send info about items/multis/pcs/npcs in selected range. No matter which settings has a client, when server wont send objects.
As far as i know, POL has 18 tiles range hardcoded, and it cannot be changed.

User avatar
atreiu
Grandmaster Poster
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 1:08 pm
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Re: view range

Post by atreiu » Fri Apr 13, 2018 10:59 am

i hate core because it's related with my job and i fully relax in script engine only =)) many times i';ve tried to avoid to take a look on POL core because of that but woow there so many interesting stuff =)) seems like i found what to do for a while :)

yes it's hardcoded

#define RANGE_VISUAL 18
#define RANGE_VISUAL_LARGE_BUILDINGS 18 // 31?
thanks a lot to all POL devs you've made my hobby!
my addon for comfortable eScript compilation will save your time
drugs&drop for compile new one
alt+q - compile last script

Yukiko
Distro Developer
Posts: 2500
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:41 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Contact:

Re: view range

Post by Yukiko » Fri Apr 13, 2018 5:23 pm

Yes. That is different from what I thought you were asking. The Core only sends information on items and mobiles within 18 squares. When you said "view range" I thought you meant the view in the game window.
Sincerely,
Yukiko

I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it.

Titus 2:13

User avatar
atreiu
Grandmaster Poster
Posts: 142
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 1:08 pm
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Re: view range

Post by atreiu » Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:59 am

Code: Select all

#define RANGE_VISUAL 25
#define RANGE_VISUAL_LARGE_BUILDINGS 25
then i see mobiles in 25 tiles but only grahpics and if mob have human graphic then all them without dress, items on land is invisible. if object created in 18 tiles then all ok. at this moment i didn;t found is it because of should be extra done in core or this is client restriction.
thanks a lot to all POL devs you've made my hobby!
my addon for comfortable eScript compilation will save your time
drugs&drop for compile new one
alt+q - compile last script

Post Reply