Authorization Code

Archive of posts related to former distro versions. Be aware that posts here do not refer to the current distro and may not work.

Moderators: POL Developer, Distro Developer

Locked
Andy619
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 4:33 am

Authorization Code

Post by Andy619 » Fri Sep 13, 2013 4:37 am

I have successfully created my shard and it says enter a Authorization Code, I've typed .setauthcode and it asking me for an old code,I can't use many commands without this, please help

Yukiko
Distro Developer
Posts: 2525
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:41 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Contact:

Re: Authorization Code

Post by Yukiko » Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:46 am

This was dealt with here - thread title is Problem with authorization.

Normally I don't rag on people who don't search the forums before posting their problem but that thread is just below the one you just started.
Sincerely,
Yukiko

I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it.

Titus 2:13

Andy619
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 4:33 am

Re: Authorization Code

Post by Andy619 » Fri Sep 13, 2013 8:48 am

None of that fixes my enquiry

Yukiko
Distro Developer
Posts: 2525
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:41 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Contact:

Re: Authorization Code

Post by Yukiko » Fri Sep 13, 2013 7:06 pm

So you made the modification I posted at the end of that thread and recompiled and it still gives you an error?
Sincerely,
Yukiko

I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it.

Titus 2:13

User avatar
Xeno
New User
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 9:53 am

Re: Authorization Code

Post by Xeno » Fri Sep 20, 2013 4:28 pm

Andy619 wrote:I have successfully created my shard and it says enter a Authorization Code, I've typed .setauthcode and it asking me for an old code,I can't use many commands without this, please help
Auth Code is a GProp, try to erase global property, use this simple cmd:

Code: Select all

use uo;
use os;

program textcmd_erasevar( who, propertyname )

    var res := EraseGlobalProperty( propertyname );
    if (res != error)
        SendSysMessage( who, "Property " + propertyname + " erased." );
    else
        SendSysMessage( who, "Error erasing property: " + res.errortext );
    endif

endprogram
The prop name is "CA", this is the solution ;)

Cheers!

Xeno
Zulu Hotel Italia Administrator - www.zuluhotel.it

Andy619
New User
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 4:33 am

Re: Authorization Code

Post by Andy619 » Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:43 am

I sorted it now :) just gotta find some scripts for commands

Yukiko
Distro Developer
Posts: 2525
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:41 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Contact:

Re: Authorization Code

Post by Yukiko » Tue Sep 24, 2013 4:00 am

Look under \pol\pkg\commands or under \pol\scripts\textcmd

I can't remember if the POL 0.99 "Distro" has any commands under \pol\scripts\textcmd
That might have been deprecated in favour of the new scheme.
Sincerely,
Yukiko

I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it.

Titus 2:13

User avatar
*Edwards
Forum Regular
Posts: 301
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 11:19 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: Authorization Code

Post by *Edwards » Wed Sep 25, 2013 8:22 pm

You might want to use .setauthcode so you can use cmd. While at it, this should be disable in the distro...

Tomi
POL Developer
Posts: 475
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:08 pm

Re: Authorization Code

Post by Tomi » Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:28 am

Those having problems with this get the latest security.inc from SVN ( scripts/include/security.inc )
I added there a constant AUTHCODE_ENABLED by default 0 to disable this system, change it to 1 if you want to use this protection

For those who want to use this and are having problems with old code unknown just add "EraseGlobalProperty( "CA" ); to scripts/start.src and recompile

Yukiko
Distro Developer
Posts: 2525
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:41 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Contact:

Re: Authorization Code

Post by Yukiko » Thu Sep 26, 2013 5:34 pm

Thanks Tomi.
Sincerely,
Yukiko

I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it.

Titus 2:13

Locked