Region functions

Bug reports and feature requests. New features can only be added to the current development version. Bug-fixes may be back-ported.

Current release: 099 / Current development: 100
ThisIsMe
Distro Developer

Region functions

Post by ThisIsMe »

As I am fairly new to the region stuff, since I do not think anyone has fully bothered to define in detail large swaths of the map into territories, I thought I would try my hand at it.

First things first, I wanted to see what these two functions returned if I was in a region not defined:
GetRegionName( object )
GetRegionNameAtLocation( x, y, realm := _DEFAULT_REALM )

In the documentation I should have errortext returned because I am in a region not defined, this is not happening.

Second, when I am in a region that is defined, nothing is returned. The region is in regions.cfg and is set to Guarded, just in case the Justice tidbit is required for this function which brings me to an actual question.

Do these functions only work for "justice" regions or the entirety of the regions.cfg file? I am hoping they are supposed to work for the entirety of the regions.cfg file as just applying to "justice" areas seems very limiting?

Okay I lied, I have two questions, when a region is defined, say this one:

Code: Select all

Region Moonglow
{
    Range       4379 1045 4487 1178
    Realm		britannia
    Guarded     1
    EnterText   You have entered the protection of the town guards.
    LeaveText   You have left the protection of the town guards.
    midi        48
}
Can we have multiple Range properties defined in one region and if not, could that possibly be something added as it would allow for a tighter region definition for a single region? If you take Britain as an example, it is not just one big square.

Anyhow, I will put this on hold until the boffins can jump in and set me straight or tell me I have stumbled upon something no one else has found. (If I have, my apologies.)
ThisIsMe
Distro Developer