ignoredoors privilege doesn't seem to work.

Bug reports and feature requests. New features can only be added to the current development version. Bug-fixes may be back-ported.

Current release: 099 / Current development: 100
Post Reply
Yukiko
Distro Developer
Posts: 2506
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:41 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Contact:

ignoredoors privilege doesn't seem to work.

Post by Yukiko » Wed Dec 23, 2015 1:20 am

My understanding from reading the POL Docs is that the ignoredoors privilege is supposed to allow a character that is not in the "GM Form" (graphic 0x3db) to be able to walk through doors. This doesn't seem to work. I am running a very recent POL Core using the High Seas Adventure client.

Does anyone else have this problem or is it just me? If this is a genuine bug can it be fixed?

I should mention that this is not a new issue. I remember trying to use this privilege several years ago with the same result. I thought I had posted about it then but I couldn't find it in the search results.

Thanks in advance.
Sincerely,
Yukiko

I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it.

Titus 2:13

RusseL
Forum Regular
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:30 pm

Re: ignoredoors privilege doesn't seem to work.

Post by RusseL » Thu Dec 24, 2015 2:26 am

So, as far as i know you can not run through doors without GM graphic, and it has nothing to do with POL. This is a client-side block. No packet will be sent if you trying to walk through a door without GM Form.

bodom
POL Developer
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 7:52 pm
Location: Italy

Re: ignoredoors privilege doesn't seem to work.

Post by bodom » Sat Dec 26, 2015 10:29 pm

Yep, it's like RusseL said. I'm updating the docs with that note.

Yukiko
Distro Developer
Posts: 2506
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:41 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Contact:

Re: ignoredoors privilege doesn't seem to work.

Post by Yukiko » Sun Dec 27, 2015 12:54 am

Thanks.
It's too bad because the GM graphic doesn't handle characters who have certain items equipped. Some items are displayed, in the paper doll, over the top of the hooded GM robe. Try having long hair and/or wearing a fancy dress and switching to GM form. It looks ridiculous. I know this is clearly a client issue and there's nothing that POL can do with the way graphics are displayed.

If ignoredoors doesn't work, I wonder why it is a privilege? It would be interesting to know why it's there.

Oh well, thanks again.
Sincerely,
Yukiko

I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it.

Titus 2:13

bodom
POL Developer
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 7:52 pm
Location: Italy

Re: ignoredoors privilege doesn't seem to work.

Post by bodom » Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:10 am

Well, it works, but just like the PushThroughHook you'll have to patch the client too to use this feature.

Yukiko
Distro Developer
Posts: 2506
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 1:41 pm
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Contact:

Re: ignoredoors privilege doesn't seem to work.

Post by Yukiko » Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:24 am

I think the pushthrough was working for me but I can't remember.

What I'm going to do is script the GMform command to save all equipped items as a CProp on the character and then unequip them. Then the Myform command will reverse the process. I already save the gender of the character so what's a few more items? :D
Sincerely,
Yukiko

I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it.

Titus 2:13

Post Reply