AR of shield, it's not based on what I set! Help me please!

Open discussion forum. For topics that do not fit anywhere else.

Moderator: POL Developer

Post Reply
DerexScript
New User
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 7:19 am

AR of shield, it's not based on what I set! Help me please!

Post by DerexScript »

Image
#----------------------------------------------

I know that armor is based on the value of "Chance" that is in the "armrzone.cfg"
But the shield does not seem to use the same calculation as the armor it uses! Which is the value of "Chance" that stays in the "armrzone.cfg"
Skinny
Expert Poster
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 10:27 pm

Re: AR of shield, it's not based on what I set! Help me please!

Post by Skinny »

Check if there is a MOD active on your character.
Also check the MAXHP of this item in-game.
DerexScript
New User
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 7:19 am

Re: AR of shield, it's not based on what I set! Help me please!

Post by DerexScript »

Skinny wrote: Fri Feb 17, 2017 9:51 am Check if there is a MOD active on your character.
Also check the MAXHP of this item in-game.
Image
#-----------------------------------------------#
Image
#---------------------------------------------#

I think print answers what you asked me!

HP = MaxHP
ArMod = 0
Ar Shield = 12
Ar Character= 6

How is this possible?
bodom
Former Developer
Posts: 140
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 7:52 pm
Location: Italy

Re: AR of shield, it's not based on what I set! Help me please!

Post by bodom »

It's a while now but If I can remember correctly, the AR in the item's definition is not applied directly but there is a correction factor depending on the layer.
DerexScript
New User
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 7:19 am

Re: AR of shield, it's not based on what I set! Help me please!

Post by DerexScript »

bodom wrote: Fri Feb 17, 2017 12:21 pm It's a while now but If I can remember correctly, the AR in the item's definition is not applied directly but there is a correction factor depending on the layer.

Can you tell me how I can apply this fix?
Nando
POL Developer
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 6:53 pm
Contact:

Re: AR of shield, it's not based on what I set! Help me please!

Post by Nando »

The AR of a shield is proportional to half your Parrying skill, and at least 1.0:

ar_shield = max(1.0, shield.AR * (parrying/2)/100)

So if you have 100.0 Parrying, the shield will give you 50% of its AR. In your case, 50% of 12 is 6.
kkk
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2017 2:30 pm

Re: AR of shield, it's not based on what I set! Help me please!

Post by kkk »

Nando wrote: Sat Feb 18, 2017 1:32 am The AR of a shield is proportional to half your Parrying skill, and at least 1.0:

ar_shield = max(1.0, shield.AR * (parrying/2)/100)

So if you have 100.0 Parrying, the shield will give you 50% of its AR. In your case, 50% of 12 is 6.
This calculation is part of Core (pol.exe)? Can give advice how to change this behavior?

Thanks.
Nando
POL Developer
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 6:53 pm
Contact:

Re: AR of shield, it's not based on what I set! Help me please!

Post by Nando »

It's hard-coded and there's currently no option to change it. :(

If you are interested in the code, it's in Character::refresh_ar().
DerexScript
New User
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 7:19 am

Re: AR of shield, it's not based on what I set! Help me please!

Post by DerexScript »

Thank you very much for taking time to help me.
I'm starting in eScript. And I think I'm going to need your help a lot.
Thanks for the help.
Post Reply