Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Here you can post threads requesting help on the official POL Ultima Online Emulator Core 097.
Note: Core 097 is no longer officially supported.

Moderator: POL Developer

Post Reply
Nightmare
New User
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:26 am

Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by Nightmare »

hi at all ...
hi! i've coverded zulu pol 095 scripts in 097 scripts. I've a problem : if i attack an npc or player i can hit it by all distance. i don't know how to do

Second problem : i've inserted 35 high anim (monsters) in anim file, configurated and it all works. But i've at least 10 new animals, i've inserted it in Low anim (animals), configurated but it don't work!
I create the new animal and appear only the name, no graphic

Please help me
Tomi
POL Developer
Posts: 478
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:08 pm

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by Tomi »

Problem 1: add some Distance checks in your combats mainhitscript or such that is controlling it.

Problem 2: adding anims is a pain in the ass because there are the files mobtypes.txt, bodyconv.def and body.def that can make problems appear also.
Take a look at a guide for those files ( I dont remember the URL to those websites anymore ) and then take a look at your files and see if those are blocking your low anims.
Nightmare
New User
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:26 am

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by Nightmare »

tnx for the help ..
For the first problem i'll check now...
For the second, i've configurated good the body and bodydef files... for mobtypes.txt i've inserted the right animation id : animid Animal 0 .. but don't work :D
Nightmare
New User
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:26 am

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by Nightmare »

Tomi wrote:Problem 1: add some Distance checks in your combats mainhitscript or such that is controlling it.
my mainhit script control only the damage and the player can attack alredy... what'is the file who control attack ?
User avatar
OldnGrey
POL Expert
Posts: 657
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 6:26 pm

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by OldnGrey »

I wonder if you have this enabled as per the core-changes:
08-15 Austin:
Added : Setting for servspecopt.cfg 'ScriptedAttackChecks' Default is disabled.
If enabled, the combat hook must check distance, line of sight, visibility
and if both combatants are alive.
Nightmare
New User
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:26 am

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by Nightmare »

k I have resolved. thank you! :D
Nightmare
New User
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:26 am

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by Nightmare »

I have an other problem, why I see the spellbook thus?

Image

The spellbook it is full of all the magic but they are not looked at. how I can make?
User avatar
CWO
POL Expert
Posts: 1158
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 5:49 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by CWO »

make sure that the itemdesc.cfg entry for the spellbook has the following line within it

Code: Select all

Spelltype          magic
and that its defined as a spellbook, not a container.
Spellbook 0x0EFA
{
Spelltype magic
// Other stuff
}
Nightmare
New User
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:26 am

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by Nightmare »

yes, i have already do that...

Code: Select all

Spellbook 0x0EFA
{
	Name	Spellbook
	Gump	0xFFFF
	MinX	40
	MaxX	60
	MinY	20
	MaxY	80
	RequiresAttention	0
	VendorSellsFor	22
	VendorBuysFor	11
	Newbie 1
	BlocksCastingIfInHand 0
	Weight		0
	MaxHP		500
	strrequired	1	
	Spelltype     magic
	equipscript	::skilladvancerequip
	unequipscript	::skilladvancerunequip
	DestroyScript	::maindestroy
}
but it didn't works yet.

if is important I use a mondain's legacy client. With age of shadow client the spellbook worked.
Targun
Neophyte Poster
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:03 am

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by Targun »

I had the same problem almost a year ago.
I don't exactly remember what was it all about, but it's propably something with account.set_uo_expansion().
Try different settings (not only ML) and see what happends.
Nightmare
New User
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:26 am

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by Nightmare »

Still it does not work. Someone has other ideas?

I have seen now that, when I make a magic, the reagents and the mana do not come consuming. I think that all this depends from an uncorrect setting after the porting from 95 to 97 or from aos client to ml client...
Last edited by Nightmare on Tue May 12, 2009 7:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
Nightmare
New User
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:26 am

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by Nightmare »

Still it does not work. Someone has other ideas?

I have seen now that, when I make a magic, the reagents and the mana do not come consuming. I think that all this depends from an uncorrect setting after the porting from 95 to 97 or from aos client to ml client...
Tomi
POL Developer
Posts: 478
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:08 pm

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by Tomi »

Mana and Reagent consuming was removed from the core during 096 iirc.

Now you have to do those things in scripts.
User avatar
CWO
POL Expert
Posts: 1158
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 5:49 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by CWO »

What does your UOFeatureEnable look like? And what is the setting on the account expansion?
Nightmare
New User
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:26 am

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by Nightmare »

in the logon script we have setting FindAccount(who.acctname).set_uo_expansion("ML");
So, all the accounts are setting whit ML expansion.
in servspecopt UOFeatureEnable=0x1a0 ( 0x1a0 it's ml i think)

Edit : i've inserted 0x1a8 in uo feature and now the spellbook works but now there are all ml features enabled and i won't ! bushido ninjitsu now appeared in the skill box, names and items names appear when i'm up it whit mouse!!! i hate this things!
Pierce
Forum Regular
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 8:33 am

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by Pierce »

Bushido, Ninjitsu and Spellweaving also appear with 0x1A0 ;)
I'm using 0x1A0 and the spellbook works just fine. The difference should only
be the enabling of the npc popup/context menues.

I was wondering why you don't have a CanInsertScript for the spellbook.
I don't believe that this causes your problems, but who knows :D
Nightmare
New User
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:26 am

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by Nightmare »

i don't know why, but if i use 0x1a0 all works fine (and use the old sistem click on object to view what is it) but the spellbook doesn't work!
if i use 0x1a8 the spellbook works fine but use all ml features and i don't want it!
User avatar
CWO
POL Expert
Posts: 1158
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2006 5:49 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by CWO »

Did you try setting the account expansion to T2A, the UOFeatureEnable to 0x1A0 then logging out (and making sure your char is completely logged out because I believe the expansion is part of the early login process) and then seeing if spellbooks work?
Pierce
Forum Regular
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 8:33 am

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by Pierce »

Or did you perhaps have an old packethook installed which handles the important packets different than the core itself does. One forgotten old test packethook can make life a lot harder :D
Nightmare
New User
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:26 am

Re: Two problems whit scripts, after porting from 095 to 097

Post by Nightmare »

hello! we have another little problem:
the upper menubar in the game (with map button jurnal button ecc..) don't work very good.
Sometimes work map button sometimes not. sometimes work jurnal button sometimes not
Can you help me ?

Edit : Sorry i'm solved problem. A mistake whit gump files :D
Post Reply